embracingthechanges 2


Sunday morning dawned sunny and beautiful. I went to the hospital with my sister to meet the doctor but there must have been a break in communication. The resident doctor was not there and there was nobody with authority to switch off the life support.

I held Mikhail’s hands, whispered in his ears. I told him I couldn’t bear to watch him suffer anymore and if he had to go then I was giving him my blessings. He was heavily sedated but a tear formed in the corner of his eye..the eye that hurt terribly in the last few days before the end. His heart stopped, the breathing ended..he was gone. My beautiful, beautiful man was gone to be with God.

My tears didn’t come for a long time…there was wailing from my sister and another friend. I was too numb. I had to break the news to my sons and then prepare for the funeral according to Islamic rites.

Leave a comment